Amanda Kowalski & Martin Hackmann Win Annual NIHCM Research Award

May 3, 2016

Yale health economist Amanda Kowalski and co-authors Martin Hackmann (former ISPS Graduate Policy Fellow) and Jonathan Kolstad won the annual NIHCM Award for Research Papers. The award is given annually by National Institute of Health Care Management Foundation in recognition of talented researchers and journalists “who serve as catalysts for positive change by advancing and informing public and private policy making.”

The committee of judges noted that the paper, “Adverse Selection and the Individual Mandate: When Theory Meets Practice,” published in American Economic Review, “demonstrated that the individual mandate in Massachusetts reduced adverse selection and costs in the individual market.” The judges also noted the paper’s policy relevance as the ACA continues to face political challenges.

The winners will each receive a $10,000 cash prize.